Committees

We have created the following committees to focus our attention in these specific areas. If you have any questions or want to get involved, please contact one of our co-chairs.

Advocacy Committee

Co-Chairs: Jessica Campbell, Kelsey Page, & Naomi Simila-Dickinson Members: Sara Alavi, Keith Hines, Matthew McGowan, & Rebecca Stith

The mission of the Advocacy Committee is to further LASR’s goal of ending systemic racism by taking our members’ skills out of the courtroom and into other venues that effectuate change. Advocacy Committee includes: informing voters on issues and candidates in elections that will influence racial equity in our communities; working with local leadership and legislative bodies on creating anti-racist policies and laws; and other realms of influence where advocacy is needed to further the mission of LASR.

Community Outreach Committee

Co-Chairs: Sara Alavi & Dee Sonntag Members: Keith Hines, Matthew McGowan, Allen McKenzie, & Rebecca Stith

The Community Outreach Committee recognizes that we are stronger when we come together to fight for a common purpose. We seek to build connections with individuals, local interest groups, and community leaders in Pierce County. By collaborating with our community, we are working to bring about meaningful change and reform in our fight to end systemic racism.

Education Committee

Co-Chairs: Sara Alavi, Jennifer Freeman, & Kelley Kavanagh Members: Keith Hines & Naomi Simila-Dickinson

The Education Committee knows that education is a critical component in the fight against system racism. There is a long history of racism in this country, much of which is not taught in schools. Racist policies impact education, housing, employment, healthcare, the criminal justice system, and much more. We must educate ourselves, and others, in order to effectively fight against systemic racism.

Local Court Reform Committee

Co-Chairs: Jessica Campbell & Kelley Kavanagh

The Local Court Reform Committee focuses on fighting systemic racism in our local judicial system by examining areas we can improve upon, such as pre-trial release, sentencing, and developing ways we can effectuate meaningful change.

Media Relations Committee

Co-Chairs: Sara Alavi, Jennifer Freeman, & Dee Sonntag

The Media Relations Committee spreads the word! This committee keeps our social media pages updated and communicates with local news and media outlets regarding events and other newsworthy information relevant to the fight against systemic racism. To help effectuate change, we work to inform the public about what is happening in our community and what can be done to make a difference.

Email

Sara Alavi – saraalavi.lasr@gmail.com

Jessica Campbell – jessicacampbell.lasr@gmail.com

Laura Carnell –  lauracarnell.lasr@gmail.com

Jennifer Freeman – jenniferfreeman.lasr@gmail.com

Keith Hines – khines.lasr@gmail.com

Kelley Kavanagh –

Matthew McGowan – matthewmcgowan.lasr@gmail.com

Allen McKenzie –

Kelsey Page – kelseypage.lasr@gmail.com  

Naomi Simila-Dickinson – naomisd.lasr@gmail.com

Dee Sonntag – deesonntag.lasr@gmail.com

Rebecca Stith – rebeccastith.lasr@protonmail.com

General Questions – info@lawyersagainstsystemicracism.org